Blog Post #29

The definitions of rhetorical situation, composing, and discourse community do change from the academic paper to the multimodal assignment, because the multimodal assignment is going to use different strategies to persuade the audience such as pictures, whereas the academic paper just used words and credible information. Also the multimodal assignment is going to be composed in a different way than the academic paper. The multimodal assignment is going to use photos and words to put it all together. I don’t think the meaning of discourse community is going to change from the academic paper to the multimodal assignment, because the people viewing the multimodal assignment are going to possibly have common goals as well.

The target audience of my multimodal text is going to be both nonsmokers and smokers. Smokers are going to be my main target audience, because the main goal is to get smokers to be aware of the effects of smoking on their oral health in the hopes of wanting to quit bettering the health of their oral cavity. Nonsmokers are also going to be my target audience, because they are most likely not aware of the effects of smoking on their oral health either, so making them aware will hopefully make it so they will not begin to use cigarettes or tobacco products. I will accomplish circulation of my text by sharing it on my social media pages and asking my friends on my social media pages to share it as well. I will reach my specific audience by having a catchy title to my blog and by trying my best to get as many people to see my multimodal text as possible. Exigence will be made by using shocking pictures and information that no one has seen before to get them to tell others about this problem and how serious it actually is.

http://www.healthnews.com/en/news/The-Effects-of-Smoking-on-Oral-Health/18cu9iQBHA2u5YEdu2X7kx/

I will incorporate this news article into my remix by taking information from it and putting it into my blog post as well as possibly sharing this link on my social media pages for all to see. I will update my multimodal text when new information or events arise and share my multimodal text on my social media pages again and again every time new information comes out.

Leave a Reply

